RSS

Life Lesson #17- Emotional Roller Coaster of Hockey

13 Nov

One of the things I do is watch hockey with my Dad.

This how a hockey night looks in our house.

First thing we do it prep for the occasion.

Step 1- Dad grabs a beverage (aka Beer)  and fills up my water dish.

Step 2- Grab snacks- Dad eats chips and I steal chips when dad gets up for a beverage.

Step 3- Park our butts on the couch and turn the volume up for the hockey game.

Next- “The Game”

During the games there is a lot of shouting. Sometimes its is happy shouting such as ” yee ha” or “that’s a beauty.”

Other times its mad shouting like “wheres the referee” or “Luongo sucks.” Sometimes Dad gets so mad he says “Benny I can’t watch this… (bad word)”  then he changes the channel. This usually lasts 5 minutes and he turns the channel back and it is happy shouting ago. Sometimes he likes to pretend he’s the coach and tells me who “needs to be traded” and “that bum should be sent to the Pee Wee league.” I’m glad I don’t play hockey cause one minute  I would be “I’m a rock star caliber player” the next minute “a burnout with lead in his skates.”

My role in all of this is to to ensure that there are no crumbs left for my mom to clean and to provide my Dad with emotional support during this chaotic 3 hours of couch entertainment.

I’m nervous about what is gonna happen when playoff season is here…..

Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Life Lessons

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Life Lesson #17- Emotional Roller Coaster of Hockey

  1. rumpydog

    November 13, 2011 at 8:48 am

    So do you ever bark along as Dad fusses? That would be cool!

     
    • bennywrinklebottom

      November 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm

      Hi Rumpy,

      Sometimes I bark when Dad is watching hockey cause every once in a while a chip crumb falls between the cushions and I am unable to get it therefore I bark at it hoping to lure it out of it’s hole. Dad thinks I’m cheering for his hockey team and gives me a love headbutt….really I just want more chips! I am the master of deception…he he he!

       

Leave a Reply

 
